Search

Carbon fibers

The group “Carbon fibers” has its focus on the investigation of carbon fibers along the complete process chain – starting at the precursor fiber, over the stabilized fiber, to the carbon fiber. Especially the development and changes of the microstructure and the chemical structure of the fibers is investigated. The ultimate aim is a fundamental understanding of the physical and chemical processes during stabilization and carbonization. In particular, a correlation between the obtained microstructure and the mechanical properties of the carbon fibers are of high interest.

Investigation of bulk fiber properties

Transmission electron microscopy on carbon fibersOne research focus is the investigation of the bulk properties of carbon fibers and their precursor materials. Of interest are the microstructure, the crystallinity, the chemical composition and the binding properties as well as defects of the fibers possibly developing along the production chain. Those microscopic properties are of crucial importance for the mechanical properties of the resulting carbon fibers. To analyze the orientation and the lattice distance of crystalline graphite planes and the size of coherent domains, microscopic methods with high lateral resolution are used, e.g. transmission electron microscopy. The chemical structure of the fiber volume is investigated by spectroscopic methods, e.g. infrared spectroscopy or scanning auger microscopy. The crystallinity is analyzed by X-ray diffraction.

Investigation of the fiber surface

Scanning electron microscopy on carbon fibersImportant for the adhesion between carbon fibers and polymer matrix – so called fiber matrix interaction – are the properties of the fiber surface, e.g. the chemical composition and the microstructure. Especially the investigation of the sizing of carbon fibers is of interest, which is used to improve the adhesion between fiber and matrix. Another important aspect is the topography of the fiber surface, in particular the fibrillar structure, the roughness and pores, which is analyzed by scanning probe microscopy. The identification of functional groups and the influence of surface activation are investigated by scanning auger microscopy and photoelectron spectroscopy.

Thermophysical investigation of the stabilization process

The stabilization process, which describes the conversion of a thermoplastic precursor fiber to an unmeltable fiber, is crucial for the properties of the resulting carbon fiber. Thermophysical investigations of the precursor fibers aim for an understanding of the chemical and physical changes, which take place during the stabilization process. Possible methods are differential scanning calorimetry or thermogravimetric analysis.

Contact person:

Judith Moosburger-Will

Group members:

Matthias Bauer

Bastian Brück

Patrick Gutmann

Robert Horny

Christina Kunzmann

Elisabeth Lachner

Suche

AG Carbonfasern

Die Arbeitsgruppe Carbonfasern fokussiert sich auf die Untersuchung von Carbonfasern entlang der gesamten Prozesskette - von der  Precursorfaser über die stabilisierte Faser zur Carbonfaser. Hierbei steht besonders die Entwicklung der Mikrostruktur und der chemischen Struktur der Fasern im Zentrum der Forschung. Ziel ist es, ein Verständnis der ablaufenden physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse während der Stabilisierung und Carbonisierung zu erhalten. Insbesondere wird eine Korrelation zwischen resultierender Mikrostruktur und mechanischen Eigenschaften der Carbonfasern angestrebt.

Untersuchung des Faservolumens

Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie an CarbonfaserEin Schwerpunkt der Forschung der Arbeitsgruppe liegt auf der Untersuchung des Faservolumens der Carbonfaser und ihrer Vorgängerprodukte. Von Interesse sind unter anderem die Mikrostruktur, die Kristallinität, die chemische Zusammensetzung und die Bindungseigenschaften sowie evtl. exis­tierende Defekte der Fasern entlang der Prozesskette, da diese entscheidenden Einfluss auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften der resultierenden Carbonfasern haben. Zur Untersuchung der Orientierung und des Abstand der kristallinen Graphitebenen sowie der Ausdehnung von kohärenten Domänen kommen mikroskopische Methoden mit hoher lateraler Auflösung zum Einsatz, wie z.B. Trans­missions­elek­tronen­mikroskopie. Die chemische Struktur des Faservolumens wird mittels spektroskopischer Methoden, wie z.B. Infrarotspektroskopie oder Ras­ter­auger­mikroskopie, untersucht. Zur Bestimmung der Kristallinität werden Rönt­gen­diffraktions­messungen eingesetzt.

Untersuchung der Faseroberfläche

Rasterelektronenmikroskopie an CarbonfasernFür die Anbindung der Carbonfasern an die Polymermatrix – die sogenannte Faser-Matrix-Wechselwirkung - sind vor allem die Eigenschaften der Faseroberfläche, wie z.B. die chemische Zusammensetzung und die Mikrostruktur entscheidend und bilden einen weiteren Forschungsschwerpunkt der Ar­beits­gruppe. Insbesondere die Untersuchung der üblicherweise auf Carbonfasern vorliegenden Schlichte, welche u.a. zur Verbesserung der Haftung aufgebracht wird, ist von Interesse. Bei der Untersuchung der Oberflächentopographie stehen insbesondere die Fibrillenstruktur der Fasern, die Rauhigkeit und evtl. vorhandene Poren im Fokus und werden mittels Rastersondemikroskopie analysiert. Die Identifikation von auf der Oberfläche vorliegenden funktionellen Gruppen sowie der Einfluss von Oberflächenaktivierungen werden mittels Rasteraugermikroskopie und Pho­to­elek­tro­nen­spek­tros­kopie untersucht.

Thermophysikalische Untersuchung des Stabilisierungsprozesses

Der Stabilisierungsprozess, d.h. die Umwandlung der thermoplastischen Precursorfaser in eine unschmelzbare Faser, ist sehr wichtig für die Eigenschaften der späteren Carbonfaser. Für ein Verständnis der während des Stabilisierungsprozesses ablaufenden chemischen und physikalischen Umwandlungen ist die Untersuchung der Precursorfasern mittels thermophysikalischer Methoden entscheidend. Zum Einsatz kommen z.B. die dynamische Differenzkalorimetrie oder die thermogravimetrische Analyse.

Ansprechpartner:

Judith Moosburger-Will

Arbeitsgruppenmitglieder:

Matthias Bauer

Bastian Brück

Patrick Gutmann

Robert Horny

Christina Kunzmann

Elisabeth Lachner