Search

Fiber-matrix interaction

The adhesion between fiber and matrix is crucial for the mechanical properties and the chemical and thermal stability of the fiber reinforced composite. It is governed by the interfacial region between fiber and matrix – the so called interphase. Focus of the group is the development of a fundamental understanding of the interphase structure, the interaction between carbon fibers and matrix systems and the resulting properties of the composite. To achieve this, the results from microscopic investigations are correlated to mechanical properties and failure mechanisms of the macroscopic composite. Our focuses are thermosetting and thermoplastic polymers as well as ceramic matrices.

 

Microscopic investigation of the interphase

Scanning probe microscopic investigation of the interphase between carbon fiber and polymer matrixThe interphase comprises the interface between fiber and matrix as well as the neighboring regions of fiber and matrix, which exhibit material properties that are different to that of the bulk materials. The extent of the interphase is strongly dependent of the materials used and ranges from some nanometers to some micrometers. One focus of the group is the characterization of materials properties of the interphase of carbon fiber reinforced polymers. Their extent, their structural, mechanical, chemical and thermal properties are characteristic for the system of fiber, sizing and matrix used as well as for the process parameters of composite production. In the case of thermoplastic matrices the development of transcrystalline layers in the vicinity of the fibers is of particular interest. The investigation of nano-scale variations of structural, mechanical and thermal properties is performed by scanning probe microscopy. Determination of the chemical composition and the binding structure of the interphase are done by scanning auger microscopy.

Micromechanical characterization

Single-fiber-push-out experiments on carbon fiber reinforced polymerOne particular focus of the group is the micromechanical testing of singe-fiber polymer composites and micro-composites. The bonding of single fibers to the surrounding polymer matrix is investigated, which has direct influence on the macroscopic mechanical properties of the composite material. The results of micromechanical testing are characteristic for the respective system of materials as well as the process parameters of composite production. Different micromechanical methods are used, e.g. the single-fiber pull-out test and the micro-bond test on single-fiber polymer composites and single-fiber push-out tests on composite materials. All of those methods are developed further to improve their interpretability. Ultimately, the aim is the development of a correlation between the micromechanical properties and the macroscopic properties of a composite.

Macromechanical characterization

The influence of fiber-matrix interaction on macroscopic mechanical properties of a composite is investigated mainly by interlaminar material parameters. Measurements of the interlaminar shear strength and the interlaminar fracture toughness (mode I, mode II, mode I/II) are performed. As alternative, fiber fragmentation tests under tension and compression loading can be used. To establish a correlation between microscopic fracture processes and macroscopic material properties acoustic emission measurements are performed during the mechanical tests.

Contact person:

Judith Moosburger-Will

Group members:

Thomas Guglhör

Eva Laukmanis

Michael Schulz

Suche

AG Faser-Matrix-Wechselwirkung

Entscheidend für die Anbindung zwischen Faser und Matrix und damit für die mechanischen Eigenschaften und die chemische und thermische Beständigkeit eines Faserverbundes ist der Faser-Matrix-Grenzbereich, die sogenannte Interphase. Ziel der Arbeitsgruppe ist es, ein grundlegendes Verständnis der Struktur der Interphase, der Wechselwirkung zwischen Carbonfaser und Polymermatrix und den daraus resultierenden Eigenschaften des Ver­bund­werk­stoffes zu erlangen. Dazu sollen die Ergebnisse von mikroskopischen Analysen mit mechanischen Kennwerten und Ver­sa­gens­me­chan­ismen des makroskopischen Verbundes verknüpft werden. Von Interesse sind sowohl duromere und thermoplastische Polymersysteme als auch keramische Matrices.

Mikroskopische Untersuchung der Interphase

Rastersondenmikroskopische Untersuchung der Interphase zwischen Carbonfaser und Polymermatrix Die Interphase beinhaltet das Faser-Matrix-Interface sowie die angrenzenden Bereiche von Faser und Matrix, die im Vergleich zur Volumenstruktur veränderte Material­ei­gen­schaften aufweisen. Die Ausdehnung der Interphase ist stark materialabhängig und reicht von wenigen Nano- bis zu wenigen Mikrometern. Ein Schwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe liegt auf der ma­ter­ial­wissen­schaftlichen Charakterisierung der In­ter­pha­se von car­bon­faser­ver­stär­kten Polymeren. Ihre Ausdehnung, ihre strukturellen, mechanischen, chemischen und thermischen Eigenschaften sind charakteristisch für das verwendete Materialsystem bestehend aus Faser, Schlichte und Matrix sowie die Prozessparameter der Verbundherstellung. Im Falle thermoplastischer Matrices interessiert insbesondere die Ausbildung transkristalliner Schichten in der Faserumgebung. Die Untersuchung nanoskaliger Variationen der strukturellen, mechanischen und thermischen Eigenschaften erfolgt mittels Rastersondenmikroskopie. Die Bestimmung der chemischen Zusammensetzung und der Bindungsstruktur der Interphase wird mit höchster lateraler Auflösung mittels Rasteraugermikroskopie durchgeführt.

Mikromechanische Charakterisierung

Einzelfaser-Push-Out-Versuche an carbonfaserverstärktem Polymer Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der Ar­beits­gruppe liegt in der mi­kro­mechanischen Prüfung von Einzelfaser-Polymer-Verbünden und Mikrocomposites. Bei diesen Prüfungen wird gezielt die Anbindung einer einzelnen Faser an die umgebende Matrix untersucht, welche entscheidenden Einfluss auf die makroskopischen mechanischen Ei­gen­schaf­ten des Composites hat. Die Ergebnisse der mikromechanischen Prüfungen sind dabei charakteristisch für das jeweilige verwendete Materialsystem sowie die zur Herstellung verwendeten Prozessparameter. Eingesetzt werden verschiedene am Lehrstuhl weiterentwickelte Methoden, wie z.B. Einzelfaser-Pull-Out- und Micro-Bond-Versuche an Einzelfaser-Polymer-Verbünden sowie Einzelfaser-Push-Out-Versuche an Composites. Ziel ist eine Korrelation der mi­kro­me­cha­ni­schen Kennwerte mit den makromechanischen Eigenschaften des Verbundwerkstoffes.

Makromechanische Charakterisierung

Zur Bestimmung des Einfluss der Faser-Matrix-Wechselwirkung auf ma­kro­me­chanische Eigenschaften werden vorwiegend interlaminare Ma­ter­ial­kenn­werte herangezogen. Dazu werden vor allem Messungen der interlaminaren Scherfestigkeit und der interlaminaren Energiefreisetzungsrate (Mode I, Mode II, Mode I/II) durchgeführt. Als Alternative stehen auch Fa­ser­frag­men­tier­ungs­ver­suche unter Zug- und Druckbelastung zur Verfügung. Um eine Korrelation der mikroskopischen Bruchvorgänge mit makromechanischen Materialeigenschaften zu erreichen werden zudem Schallemissionsmessungen bei diesen Versuchsarten durchgeführt.

Ansprechpartner:

Judith Moosburger-Will

Arbeitsgruppenmitglieder:

Thomas Guglhör

Eva Laukmanis

Michael Schulz