EKM-Logo   Institut für Physik   Universität Augsburg

Theoretical Physics III

Vollhardt's group

> Homepage
Group Members
Areas of Research
Publications
Bachelor Theses
Diploma Theses
PhD Theses
Habilitation Theses
Lectures and Seminars
Presentations

Kampf's group

Chioncel's group


How to get here
Computing Info
Helium3 Kalkulator

German version


Forschergruppe 1346
Transregio 80
Sonderforschungsbereich 484 (2000-2009)
Center for Electronic Correlations and Magnetism (EKM)
Department of Physics
Augsburg University


Webmaster
 

Prof. Dr. Dieter Vollhardt

Chair in Theoretical Physics
Center for Electronic Correlations and Magnetism
Theoretical Physics III
Institute of Physics
University of Augsburg
D-86135 Augsburg
Germany

Office Office: 4A 408, EKM-Building

Phone Phone: +49 - 821 - 598 - 3700

 
Mailbox Email: Dieter.Vollhardt@Physik.Uni-Augsburg.DE

Curriculum Vitae

During 1971-1976 Dieter Vollhardt studied physics at the University of Hamburg. From 1976 to 1979 he worked with Professor Kazumi Maki at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles on the theory of critical currents in superfluid Helium 3. This was also the topic of his Diploma Thesis (1977) and his Doctoral Thesis (1979) at the University of Hamburg. From 1979 to 1984 Dieter Vollhardt was Research Associate of Professor Peter Wölfle, and from 1984 to 1987 a Heisenberg-Fellow of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, at the Max-Planck-Institute for Physics and Astrophysics (Heisenberg-Institute) in Munich. During this time he also stayed at various research institutions in the U.S., among them, in 1983, the Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara, and Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill. In 1984 he completed his Habilitation at the Technical University of Munich. In 1987 Dieter Vollhardt was appointed to the Chair in Theoretical Physics C, and became Director at the Institute of Theoretical Physics, at the RWTH Aachen University. Since 1996 he holds the Chair in Theoretical Physics on Electronic Correlations and Magnetism at the Institute of Physics of the University of Augsburg.

Dieter Vollhardt's main areas of research are the theory of electronic correlations and magnetism, e.g., the realistic modelling of strongly correlated materials (see Physics Today, March 2004, and Einstein Lecture, 2012), disordered electronic systems, and normal and superfluid Helium 3. He is author (together with P. Wölfle, Karlsruhe) of the book The Superfluid Phases of Helium 3 (Dover Publications, 2013: Corrected, unabridged republication of the edition originally published by Taylor & Francis, 1990; with a new preface, 656 pages; Chapter 1 (Introduction)). As the German representative in Commission C5 (Low Temperatures) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) during 1999 - 2005 he contributed to the book "Physics Now" of the IUPAP published in 2004 which contains reviews of the state of the art in physics. He is currently the spokesman of the DFG Research Unit FOR1346 Dynamical Mean-Field Approach with Predictive Power for Strongly Correlated Materials.

On the occasion of his 60th birthday the International Workshop on Electronic Correlations in Models and Materials took place in Augsburg in September 2011.

Areas of Current Research

Realistic modelling of strongly correlated electronic systems

We develop and apply the novel computational scheme LDA+DMFT to explore the properties of electronically correlated materials from first principles. LDA+DMFT is based on a combination of conventional methods for computing electronic band structures, e.g., the local density approximation (LDA), with the dynamical mean-field theory (DMFT) for correlated electron systems.

Metal-insulator transitions in electronic systems

Phase transitions between metallic, non-metallic, magnetically ordered and non-ordered states in correlated and/or disordered electronic systems are investigated within dynamical mean-field theory (DMFT) together with finite temperature quantum Monte-Carlo techniques, the numerical renormalization group, and other techniques. Thereby the influence of disorder, frustration and doping on the transitions is studied.

Microscopic theory of magnetism

We investigate the microscopic conditions for the stability of long-range ordered magnetic states in strongly correlated insulators and metals. A broad range of theoretical tools (exact analytic methods, perturbation theory at weak and strong coupling, low and high dimensions, variational procedures, quantum Monte-Carlo calculations, numerical renormalization group, etc.) is employed for this purpose.

Correlated electrons in nonequilibrium

The real-time dynamics of correlated electrons are studied using dynamical mean-field-theory for nonequilibrium. This approach can be used in particular to describe pump-probe experiments, in which the sample is excited by a first laser pulse and analyzed with a second laser pulse after a controlled time delay.

Correlated bosonic systems

The properties of correlated lattice bosons are investigated by means of the newly developed bosonic dynamical mean-field theory (B-DMFT). In this approach the dynamic coupling between normal and condensed bosons is explicitly included.

Development of new theoretical methods

We develop analytical and numerical approaches for the non-perturbative investigation of electronic correlation phenomena in quantum mechanical lattice models.

Introductory literature

Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus: Eine Einführung (in German) (pdf)
Strongly Correlated Materials: Insights from Dynamical Mean-Field Theory, G. Kotliar and D. Vollhardt, Physics Today (March 2004)
Elektronische Korrelationen im Festkörper (in German), Physik Journal (August/September 2010) (pdf)
Dynamical mean-field theory for correlated electrons, Annalen der Physik (Januar 2012) (pdf)

Lecture Notes:
Investigations of correlated electron systems using the limit of high dimensions (1993)
Strong-coupling approaches to correlated fermions (1994)
Dynamical mean-field theory of electronic correlations in models and materials (2010)

see also:
Research topics / Selected publications
Publication list (PDF)


URL: http://www.physik.uni-augsburg.de/theo3/index.vollha.en.shtml

EKM-Logo   Institut für Physik   Universität Augsburg

Theoretische Physik III

Arbeitsgruppe Vollhardt

> Homepage
Mitarbeiter
Forschungsgebiete
Veröffentlichungen
Bachelor-Arbeiten
Master-/Diplom-Arbeiten
Dissertationen
Habilitationen
Vorlesungen und Seminare
Vorträge

Arbeitsgruppe Kampf

Arbeitsgruppe Chioncel


Anreise
Rechner-Informationen
Helium3 Kalkulator

English version


Forschergruppe 1346
Transregio 80
Sonderforschungsbereich 484 (2000-2009)
Zentrum für Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus (EKM)
Institut für Physik
Universität Augsburg


Webmaster
 

Prof. Dr. Dieter Vollhardt

Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik III
Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus
Institut für Physik
Universität Augsburg
D-86135 Augsburg
Germany

Office Büro: 4A 408, EKM-Building

Phone Telefon: +49 - 821 - 598 - 3700

 
Mailbox Email: Dieter.Vollhardt@Physik.Uni-Augsburg.DE

Wissenschaftlicher Lebenslauf

Dieter Vollhardt studierte von 1971 bis 1976 Physik an der Universität Hamburg. Es folgte ein dreijähriger Forschungsaufenthalt bei Professor Kazumi Maki an der University of Southern California in Los Angeles (USA) als Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes. Während dieser Zeit beschäftigte er sich mit der Theorie kritischer Ströme im supraflüssigen Helium 3, dem Thema seiner Diplomarbeit (1977) und seiner Promotion (1979) an der Universität Hamburg. Von 1979 bis 1984 arbeitete Dieter Vollhardt als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter von Professor Peter Wölfle, und von 1984 bis 1987 als Heisenberg-Stipendiat der DFG, am Max-Planck-Institut für Physik und Astrophysik (Heisenberg-Institut) in München. In diese Zeit fallen mehrere längere Gastaufenthalte an Forschungseinrichtungen in den USA, u.a. am Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara, und den Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill. 1984 habilitierte er sich an der TU München mit einer Arbeit über die Theorie korrelierter Fermisysteme. Im Jahr 1987 wurde Dieter Vollhardt auf den Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik C und die Stelle eines Direktors am Institut für Theoretische Physik an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule Aachen berufen. Seit 1996 hat er den Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Physik III (Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus) an der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Augsburg inne.

Dieter Vollhardts Forschungsgebiete sind die Theorie elektronischer Korrelationen und des Magnetismus, insbesondere die realistische Modellierung elektronisch korrelierter Materialien (siehe Physics Today, March 2004, und Einstein Lecture, 2012), ungeordnete Systeme sowie normal- und supraflüssiges Helium-3. Er ist Autor (mit P. Wölfle, Karlsruhe) des Buches The Superfluid Phases of Helium 3 (Dover Publications, 2013: Korrigierter, ungekürzter Nachdruck der ursprünglich bei Taylor & Francis, 1990, erschienenen Auflage; mit neuer Einleitung, 656 Seiten; Kapitel 1 (Introduction)). Als deutscher Vertreter in der Kommission C5 (Tiefe Temperaturen) der International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) während 1999 -2005 hat er an dem 2004 erschienenen Buch "Physics Now" der IUPAP mitgearbeitet, das einen Überblick über den aktuellen Stand der Physik gibt. Er ist derzeit Sprecher der DFG-Forschergruppe FOR1346 Dynamical Mean-Field Approach with Predictive Power for Strongly Correlated Materials.

Anlässlich seines 60. Geburtstages fand im September 2011 in Augsburg der International Workshop on Electronic Correlations in Models and Materials statt.

Forschungsgebiete

ab initio Berechnung elektronisch korrelierter Materialien

Durch Verbindung konventioneller Methoden zur Berechnung elektronischer Bandstrukturen (Lokale Dichte-Näherung: LDA) mit der Dynamischen Molekularfeld-Theorie (DMFT) für Vielteilchen-Systeme wurde in den letzten Jahren der ab initio Zugang LDA+DMFT entwickelt. Er erlaubt die mikroskopische Untersuchung der Eigenschaften elektronisch korrelierter Materialien.

Metall-Isolator-Übergänge in elektronischen Systemen

Phasenübergange zwischen metallischen, nicht-metallischen, magnetisch geordneten und ungeordneten Zuständen in elektronischen Systemen werden im Rahmen der Dynamischen Molekularfeld-Theorie (DMFT) mit Hilfe von Quanten-Monte-Carlo-Verfahren, der Numerischen Renormierungsgruppe und anderen Methoden untersucht. Dabei wird insbesondere der Einfluß von Unordnung, Frustration und Dotierung auf die Übergänge erforscht.

Mikroskopische Theorie des Magnetismus

Die mikroskopischen Voraussetzungen für die Stabilität langreichweitig geordneter magnetischer Zustände in elektronisch stark korrelierten Isolatoren und Metallen sowie deren Eigenschaften werden mit einer breiten Palette theoretischer Zugänge (exakte analytische Methoden, Störungstheorie bei schwacher und starker Kopplung in niedrigen und hohen Dimensionen, Variationsverfahren, Quanten-Monte-Carlo-Rechnungen, Numerische Renormierungsgruppe) untersucht.

Korrelierte Elektronen im Nichtgleichgewicht

Die Zeitentwicklung korrelierter Elektronen wird mit Nichtgleichgewichts-DMFT untersucht. Dieser Zugang ermöglicht insbesondere die Beschreibung sogenannter Pump-Probe-Experimente, bei denen das Elektronensystem zunächst mit einem ersten Laserpuls angeregt und dann nach einer einstellbaren Zeit mit einem zweiten Laserpuls analysiert wird.

Korrelierte bosonische Systeme

Die Eigenschaften korrelierter Gitter-Bosonen werden im Rahmen der neu entwickelten bosonischen dynamischen Molekularfeld-Theorie (B-DMFT) untersucht. Dabei wird insbesondere die dynamische Kopplung zwischen normalen und kondensierten Bosonen explizit berücksichtigt.

Methodenentwicklung

Es werden neue analytische und numerische Zugänge für die nicht-störungstheoretische Untersuchung von Korrelationsphänomenen in quantenmechanischen Gittermodellen entwickelt.

Weitere einführende Literatur

Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus: Eine Einführung (pdf)
Strongly Correlated Materials: Insights from Dynamical Mean-Field Theory, G. Kotliar and D. Vollhardt, Physics Today (March 2004)
Elektronische Korrelationen im Festkörper, Physik Journal (August/September 2010) (pdf)
Dynamical mean-field theory for correlated electrons, Annalen der Physik (Januar 2012) (pdf)

Lecture Notes:
Investigations of correlated electron systems using the limit of high dimensions (1993)
Strong-coupling approaches to correlated fermions (1994)
Dynamical mean-field theory of electronic correlations in models and materials (2010)
From Gutzwiller Wave Functions to Dynamical Mean-Field Theory (2014)

siehe auch:
Forschungsthemen / Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen
Veröffentlichungsliste (PDF)


URL: http://www.physik.uni-augsburg.de/theo3/index.vollha.de.shtml