Suche

AG Schichtstrukturen

Supraleitender Spin-Valve-Effekt in nanoskaligen Ferromagnet-Supraleiter-Schichtsystemen

Fulde-Ferrell-Larkin-Ovchinnikov (FFLO) Zustand

Singlet Supraleitung und Ferromagnetismus können normalerweise nicht koexistieren, da die Supraleitung die Elektronenspins antiparallel bedingt, um Cooper Paare zu bilden, während der Ferromagnetismus die Elektronenspins parallel ausrichtet. Fulde-Ferell [1] und Larkin-Ovchinikov [2]  (FFLO) berechneten jedoch unabhängig voneinander, dass die Supraleitung auf einem ferromagnetischen Hintergrund existieren kann, aber nur mit einem von Null verschiedenen Impuls der Cooper Paare. Ein FFLO ähnlicher Zustand kann in Supraleiter (S) / Ferromagnet (F) Nanolagen erzeugt werden, welcher zu einer Fülle von neuen physikalischen Effekten führt, wie die Oszillation der supraleitende Übergangstemperatur mit zunehmender ferromagnetischer Schichtdicke oder die Auslöschung und der Wiedereintritt der Supraleitung durch Interferenz der Paarwellenfunktion (Abb. 1). Ein experimenteller Nachweis dieser Effekte ist in Abb. 2 zu sehen [3]. Solche Effekte treten auch in F/S/F Trilagen auf, die den Kern eines supraleitenden Spin-Valves bilden [4].

1

Abb. 1: a), b) und c) Oszillation der Paarwellenfunktion Φ, d) Oszillation der supraleitende Übergangstemperatur Tc in einer Supraleiter (S) – Ferromagnet (F) Doppellage. Wegen der Reflektion der Paarwellenfunktion an der Oberfläche des Ferromagneten, interferiert sie mit sich selbst, was zu konstruktiver (b)) oder destruktiver (a) und c)) Interferenz, abhängig von der Schichtdicke dF des Ferromagneten, führt. Dadurch oszilliert die supraleitende Übergangstemperatur in Abhängigkeit von der Schichtdicke des Ferromagneten (d)).

2

Abb. 2: Erster experimenteller Nachweis der Reentrant Superconductivity, d.h. des Wiedereintritts der Supraleitung bei höheren Schichtdicken nach vollständiger Auslöschung, in einer S/F Doppellage. Die durchgezogenen und gestrichelten Linien zeigen theoretische Verläufe für den „sauberen“ und „schmutzigen“ Fall der ferromagnetischen Schicht [3].

 

Singulett Spin-Valve

Basierend auf diesem Effekten lässt sich im Prinzip ein Spin-Valve realisieren. Hierzu wird ein Antiferromagnet-Ferromagnet-Supraleiter-Ferromagnet (AF-FSF) System (Abb. 3) untersucht, bei dem die eine ferromagnetische Schicht von dem Antiferromagneten in der Orientierung ihrer magnetischen Spins fixiert wird. Durch ein externes magnetisches Feld lassen sich nun unterschiedliche relative magnetische Orientierungen der beiden ferromagnetischen Schichten zueinander realisieren. Dadurch verändert sich die supraleitende Übergangstemperatur des Systems (Abb. 4). Für eine festgelegt Arbeitstemperatur, lässt sich so das System mittels eines externen magnetischen Feldes zwischen supraleitendem, und normalleitendem Zustand, umschalten [5].

3

Abb. 3: Schematischer Aufbau einer AF-FSF Probenserie. Die einzelnen Proben werden entlang der gepunkteten Linien geschnitten.

4

Abb. 4: Theoretische Berechnung der supraleitenden Übergangstemperatur Tc in einem Spin Valve des FSF-Typs. Die gestrichelte und gepunktete Linie zeigt jeweils das Verhalten von Tc als Funktion der Schichtdicke der ferromagnetischen Schichten für parallele und antiparallele Orientierung der Magnetisierungen. Die rote Linie zeigt die Differenz der beiden und somit die Größe des Spin Valve Effekts. [5]

 

Triplett Spin-Valve

Neben den oben beschriebenen Effekten lässt sich durch eine inhomogene Magnetisierung in Zusammenspiel mit einem FFLO-ähnlichen supraleitenden Zustand auch sogenannte s-Wellen Triplett Supraleitung erzeugen. Hierbei sind die Spins der Cooper Paare parallel und die Cooper Paare werden somit nicht im Ferromagneten durch die konkurrierenden Spin-Ordnungs-Mechanismen aufgebrochen. Dies führt zu einer langreichweitigen Triplett-Komponente in der Supraleitung. Diese tritt bei nicht-kollinearer Orientierung der Magnetisierungen von zwei ferromagnetischen Schichten auf. Dies kann dazu führen, dass sich ein Minimum der supraleitenden Übergangstemperatur bei Winkeln zwischen der parallelen und antiparallelen Orientierung ausbildet  (Triplett-Spin-Valve Effekt) [6]. Hierzu wird ein Supraleiter-Ferromagnet-Normalleiter (N) -Ferromagnet-Antiferromagnet (SF1-N-F2-AF) System (Abb. 5) untersucht. Die normalleitende (nc) Schicht, realisiert durch eine dünne normalleitende (nc) Nb Schicht, dient der wechselseitigen Entkopplung der beiden ferromagnetischen Schichten (F1, F2). Ein Vergleich der theoretischen Vorhersage mit experimentellen Ergebnissen ist in Abb. 6 gezeigt [7].

 

5

Abb. 5: Schematischer Aufbau einer SF1NF2-AF Probenserie. Die einzelnen Proben werden entlang der gepunkteten Linien geschnitten.

6

Abb. 6: (a) Winkelabhängigkeit der reduzierten supraleitenden Übergangstemperatur Tc/Tc0 entsprechend dem Modell in [6]; Tc0 ist die kritische Temperatur eines isolierten S-Films. (b) Die Abhängigkeit der supraleitenden Übergangstemperatur Tc vom angelegten Magnetfeld. Die Entsprechungen der magnetischen Orientierung der beiden F-Schichten sind in beiden Diagrammen durch die Piktogramme und die Nummerierung gegeben. Die Pfeile geben die Richtung an, in der das Magnetfeld verändert wurde. [7]

 

Aktuelle Untersuchungen

Aktuell wird das Auftreten von Triplet Supraleitung, sowie Memory Effekten (d.h. der Widerstand der Probe hängt von der magnetischen Vorgeschichte ab) aufgrund spezieller magnetischer Konfigurationen in Spin Valve Strukturen vom Typ AF/FSF untersucht [8]. Außerdem wird auch das grundlegende Verständnisses über S/F Hybridstrukturen weiter experimentell vertieft. Hierzu werden z.B. das obere kritische Feld, sowie thermisch aktivierte Flussfadenwanderung und der Einfluss eines angelegten Magnetfeldes auf die Oszillationen in der supraleitenden Übergangstemperatur in S/F Proben untersucht.

 

Die AG Nanoskalige Schichtstrukturen

Die AG Nanoskalige Schichtstrukturen untersucht die oben beschrieben Effekt in Supraleiter-Ferromagnet-Schichtstrukturen. Hierzu werden die Proben präpariert,  die elektrischen Eigenschaften bei tiefen Temperaturen im He4- oder He3-Verdampfungskryostaten, bzw. im He3/He4-Mischungskryostaten untersucht, sowie mit Hilfe von Rutherford-Backscattering-Spectrometry (RBS) (Abb. 7)  und Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (TEM) (Abb. 8) strukturell und mittels Superconducting Quantum Interference Device (SQUID) Magnetometrie (Abb. 9) magnetisch charakterisiert.

7

Abb. 7: RBS-Spektrum einer Probe einer FSF-Probenserie. Die Peaks sind jeweils der entsprechenden Schicht zugeordnet. [4]

8

Abb. 8: TEM-Aufnahme des Querschnitts einer Probe einer F/S/F Probenserie [4]

9

Abb. 9: Ergebnisse der SQUID-Magnetometrie einer SF1NF2-AF Probe (Nb/Cu41Ni59/nc-Nb/Co/CoOx). Während (a) die Hysterese des gesamten Systems zeigt, zeigt (b) die Beiträge der beiden F-Schichten separat. Die Verschiebung der blauen Kurve (Co) durch das Exchange Biasing durch den Antiferromagneten ist deutlich zu erkennen. Da die leichte magnetische Richtung der Cu41Ni59 Schicht (rote Kurve) senkrecht zur Filmebene liegt (lässt sich aus der Messung im Inset bei unterschiedlicher Orientierung des Magnetfelds erkennen (siehe Inset)), lassen sich die in den Piktogrammen dargestellten magnetischen Orientierungen folgern. [7]

Literatur:

[1] P. Fulde and R. A. Ferrell, Superconductivity in a Strong Spin-Exchange Field, Phys. Rev. A 135, A550 (1964).

[2] A. I. Larkin and Y. N. Ovchinnikov, Inhomogenous State of Superconductors, ZhETF 47, 1136 (1964) [Sov. Phys. JETP 20, 762 (1965)].

[3] V. I. Zdravkov, A. Sidorenko, G. Obermeier, S. Gsell, M. Schreck, C. Müller, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L. R. Tagirov, Reentrant Superconductivity in Nb/Cu1-xNix Bilayers, Phys. Rev. Lett 97, 057004 (2006).

[4] J. Kehrle, V.I. Zdravkov, G. Obermeier, J. Garcia-Garcia, A. Ullrich, C. Müller, R. Morari, A. S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, L. R. Tagirov, and R. Tidecks, Critical Temperature Oscillations and Reentrant Superconductivity Due to the FFLO Like State in F/S/F Trilayers, Ann. Phys. (Berlin) 524/1, 37 (2012).

[5] V.I. Zdravkov, J. Kehrle, G. Obermeier, S. Gsell, M. Schreck, C. Müller,   H. A. Krug Von Nidda, J. Lindner, J. Moosburger-Will, E. Nold, R. Morari, V. V. Ryazanov, A. S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L. R. Tagirov, Reentrant Superconductivity in Superconductor/Ferromagnetic-Alloy Bilayers, Phys. Rev. B 82, 054517 (2010).

[6] Y.V. Fominov, A.A. Golubov, T.Y. Karminskaya, M.Yu. Kupriyanov, R.G. Deminov and L.R. Tagirov, Superconducting Triplet Spin Valve, Pis'ma v ZhETF 91, 329 (2010) [JETP Lett. 91, 308 (2010)].

[7] V.I. Zdravkov, J. Kehrle, G. Obermeier, D. Lenk, H.-A. Krug von Nidda, C. Müller, M.Yu. Kupriyanov, A.S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, L.R. Tagirov, Experimental Observation of the Triplet Spin-Valve Effect in a Superconductor-Ferromagnet Heterostructure, Phys. Rev. B 87, 144507 (2012)

[8] V.I. Zdravkov, D. Lenk, R. Morari, A. Ullrich, G. Obermeier, C. Müller, H.­A. Krug von Nidda, A.S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L.R. Tagirov, Memory Effect and Triplet Pairing Generation in the Superconducting Exchange Biased Co/CoOx/Cu41Ni59/Nb/Cu41Ni59 Layered Heterostructure, Appl. Phys. Lett. 103, 062604 (2013)

 

Ansprechpartner:

Reinhard Tidecks

Arbeitsgruppenmitglieder:

Daniel Lenk

Claus Müller

Günter Obermeier

Aladin Ullrich

Vladimir Zdravkov

Ehemalige:

Mamoun Hemmida

Jan Kehrle

Thomas Mairoser

Kooperationen:

Experimentalphysik IV:

Wolfgang Reiber

Birgit Knoblich

Experimentalphysik V:

Hans-Albrecht Krug von Nidda

Dana Vieweg

Experimentalphysik VI:

Alexander Herrnberger

Externe Kooperationen:

Solid State Physics Department, Kazan Federal University, Kazan, Russland:

Lenar R. Tagirov

D. Ghitsu Institute of Electronic Engineering and Nanotechnologies ASM, Kishinev, Moldawien:

Anatoli S. Sidorenko

Roman Morari

Search

Sandwich structures

Superconducting Spin-Valve-Effects in Nanoscale Ferromagnet-Superconductor-Multilayers

Fulde-Ferrell-Larkin-Ovchinikov (FFLO) State

Singlet superconductivity and ferromagnetism are usually mutually exclusive, because of superconductivity requires the electron spins to be aligned antiparallel in order to create Cooper pairs, whereas the ferromagnetic exchange field tends to align them parallel. Nevertheless, Fulde-Ferell [1] and Larkin-Ovchinikov [2]  predicted superconductivity on a ferromagnetic background, however with non-vanishing momentum of the Cooper pairs. A FFLO-like pairing can be generated in superconductor (S) / ferromagnet (F) nanolayers, which results in plenty of new physical effects, such as the oscillation of the superconducting transition temperature as a function of the ferromagnetic layer thickness, or even a complete extinction and recovery of superconductivity as a result of the interference of the superconducting pairing wave function (Fig. 1). An experimental proof of these effects is shown in Fig. 2 [3]. Such phenomena also appear in F/S/F trilayers, which represent the core of a superconducting spin valve structure [4].

1

Fig. 1: a), b) and c) Oscillation of the pairing wave function Φ, d) Oszillation of the superconducting transition temperature Tc in a superconductor (S) – ferromagnet (F) bilayer. Due to the reflection of the pairing wave function at the surface of the ferromagnet it interferes with itself leading to destructive (a) and c)) and constructive (b)) interference, depending on the thickness of the ferromagnetic layer dF. This leads to the oscillatory dependence of the superconducting transition temperature on the thickness of the ferromagnetic layer (d)).

2

Fig. 2: First experimental proof of reentrant superconductivity in a S/F bilayer, i.e. the recovery of superconductivity at higher ferromagnetic layer thickness after complete extinction. The solid and dashed lines show theoretical fits for the „clean“ and „dirty“ case of the ferromagnetic layer, respectively. [3].

 

Singlet Spin-Valve

Based on these effects, it is in principle possible to realize a spin-valve. For this purpose, an antiferromagnet-ferromagnet-superconductor-ferromagnet (AF-FSF) system (Fig. 3) is investigated, with the antiferromagnet pinning the magnetization direction of one ferromagnetic layer. Thus, different relative magnetic orientations of the ferromagnetic layers can be realized by making use of an external magnetic field. The superconducting transition temperature varies for parallel and antiparallel orientation of the magnetizations of the ferromagnetic layers (Fig. 4). For a given working temperature, the system can be switched by an external magnetic field from a superconducting into a normalconducting state and vice versa [5].

3

Fig. 3: Schematic design of a AF-FSF sample series. The individual samples were cut along the dotted lines.

4

Fig. 4: Theoretical calculation of the superconducting transition temperature Tc in a FSF-type spin valve. The dashed and dotted lines show the behavior of Tc as a function of the ferromagnetic layer thickness for the parallel and antiparallel alignment of the magnetizations, respectively, while the red solid line shows the difference between both and, thus, the magnitude of the spin valve effect [5].

 

Triplet Spin-Valve

Beside the effects described above, the interplay between an inhomogenous magnetization and a FFLO-like superconducting state can generate s-wave triplet superconductivity. The electron spins of the Cooper pairs of this triplet state are parallel, so that the Cooper pairs are not broken due to the concurring spin ordering mechanisms. This leads to a long-range triplet component of superconductivity. This triplet component, generated at non-collinear orientations of the magnetizations of two ferromagnetic layers, can lead to the formation of a minimum in the superconducting transition temperature at angles between the antiparallel and parallel orientation (triplet spin-valve effect) [6]. This effect is investigated in a superconductor-ferromagnet-normalconductor (N) -ferromagnet-antiferromagnet (SF1-N-F2-AF) system (Fig. 5). The normalconducting (nc) layer is necessary to decouple the two ferromagnetic layers (F1, F2). A comparison of experimental results with the theoretical prediction is shown in Fig. 6. [7].

 

5

Fig. 5: Schematic design of a SF1NF2-AF sample series. The individual samples were cut along the dotted lines.

6

Fig. 6: (a) Angular dependence of the reduced superconducting transition temperature Tc/Tc0 according to the model in [6]; here Tc0 is the superconducting transition temperature of an isolated S film. (b) Experimental data on the dependence of the superconducting transition temperature Tc on the applied magnetic field. The correspondent resulting magnetic configurations of both ferromagnetic layers are indicated by pictograms and numbers in red circles. The arrows show the direction of the magnetic field sweep. [7]

 

Current Investigations

Currently, the appearance of triplet superconductivity, as well as memory effects (i.e. the resistance of the sample depends on the magnetic history), arising from specific magnetic configurations, are investigated in AF/FSF type spin valve structures. [8]. Furthermore, the basic understanding of S/F systems is deepened. For this purpose e.g. the upper critical field, as well as thermal activated flux flow and the influence of an applied magnetic field on the oscillations of the critical temperature are investigated in S/F samples.

 

The AG Nanoscale Layered Structures

The AG Nanonscale Layered Structures investigates the effects described above in superconductor-ferromagnet layered structures. The samples are prepared, characterized electrically at low temperatures in a He4 or He3 evaporation cryostat or in a He3-He4 dilution refrigerator, as well as structurally, with Rutherford-Backscattering-Spectrometry (RBS) (Fig. 7) and transmission electron microscopy (TEM) (Fig. 8), and magnetically with a superconducting quantum interference device (SQUID) magnetometer (Fig. 9).

7

Fig. 7: RBS spectrum of a sample of a FSF sample series. The peaks are related to the correspondent layers. [4]

8

Fig. 8: Cross-sectional TEM picture of a sample of a FSF sample series. [4]

9

Fig. 9: Magnetic moment of a sample of a SF1NF2-AF sample series (Nb/Cu41Ni59/nc-Nb/Co/CoOx). While (a) shows the hysteresis of the system as a whole, (b) shows the contribution of both F layers seperately. The shift of the blue curve (Co) due to the exchange biasing by the antiferromagnet is obvious. Due to the easy magnetization direction of the Cu41Ni59 layer (red curve) being perpendicular to the film plane (which can be concluded from measurements with different orientations of the magnetic field (see insert)), the magnetic orientations shown as pictograms can be concluded. [7]

Literature:

[1] P. Fulde and R. A. Ferrell, Superconductivity in a Strong Spin-Exchange Field, Phys. Rev. A 135, A550 (1964).

[2] A. I. Larkin and Y. N. Ovchinnikov, Inhomogenous State of Superconductors, ZhETF 47, 1136 (1964) [Sov. Phys. JETP 20, 762 (1965)].

[3] V. I. Zdravkov, A. Sidorenko, G. Obermeier, S. Gsell, M. Schreck, C. Müller, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L. R. Tagirov, Reentrant Superconductivity in Nb/Cu1-xNix Bilayers, Phys. Rev. Lett 97, 057004 (2006).

[4] J. Kehrle, V.I. Zdravkov, G. Obermeier, J. Garcia-Garcia, A. Ullrich, C. Müller, R. Morari, A. S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, L. R. Tagirov, and R. Tidecks, Critical Temperature Oscillations and Reentrant Superconductivity Due to the FFLO Like State in F/S/F Trilayers, Ann. Phys. (Berlin) 524/1, 37 (2012).

[5] V.I. Zdravkov, J. Kehrle, G. Obermeier, S. Gsell, M. Schreck, C. Müller,   H. A. Krug Von Nidda, J. Lindner, J. Moosburger-Will, E. Nold, R. Morari, V. V. Ryazanov, A. S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L. R. Tagirov, Reentrant Superconductivity in Superconductor/Ferromagnetic-Alloy Bilayers, Phys. Rev. B 82, 054517 (2010).

[6] Y.V. Fominov, A.A. Golubov, T.Y. Karminskaya, M.Yu. Kupriyanov, R.G. Deminov and L.R. Tagirov, Superconducting Triplet Spin Valve, Pis'ma v ZhETF 91, 329 (2010) [JETP Lett. 91, 308 (2010)].

[7] V.I. Zdravkov, J. Kehrle, G. Obermeier, D. Lenk, H.-A. Krug von Nidda, C. Müller, M.Yu. Kupriyanov, A.S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, L.R. Tagirov, Experimental Observation of the Triplet Spin-Valve Effect in a Superconductor-Ferromagnet Heterostructure, Phys. Rev. B 87, 144507 (2012)

[8] V.I. Zdravkov, D. Lenk, R. Morari, A. Ullrich, G. Obermeier, C. Müller, H.­A. Krug von Nidda, A.S. Sidorenko, S. Horn, R. Tidecks, and L.R. Tagirov, Memory Effect and Triplet Pairing Generation in the Superconducting Exchange Biased Co/CoOx/Cu41Ni59/Nb/Cu41Ni59 Layered Heterostructure, Appl. Phys. Lett. 103, 062604 (2013)

 

Contact person:

Reinhard Tidecks

Group members:

Daniel Lenk

Claus Müller

Günter Obermeier

Aladin Ullrich

Vladimir Zdravkov

Alumni:

Mamoun Hemmida

Jan Kehrle

Thomas Mairoser

Cooperations:

Experimentalphysik IV:

Wolfgang Reiber

Birgit Knoblich

Experimentalphysik V:

Hans-Albrecht Krug von Nidda

Dana Vieweg

Experimentalphysik VI:

Alexander Herrnberger

External cooperations:

Solid State Physics Department, Kazan Federal University, Kazan, Russia:

Lenar R. Tagirov

D. Ghitsu Institute of Electronic Engineering and Nanotechnologies ASM, Kishinev, Moldova:

Anatoli S. Sidorenko

Roman Morari